THE EPIC POST (part 1)

20 08 2008

so we’re back…

I’ve been super lazy about this because it kind of seemed overwhelming and that it would take a stupidly long amount of time so I put it off and now here I am finally getting around to it, so where to begin? I guess with the 4th of July….

The 4th this year was almost perfect. My good friend Carl that I’ve known since I was 12, came to visit, because I promised him a 4th that only California can come through with and did it ever. He flew in on the night of the 2nd and I believe we hung out mostly at the house on the 3rd, while I prepared for the bbq we had planned partly in his honor, partly cause we were leaving Cali soon, and partly to kick off the fourth the right way. We kept it small and it was awesome. I made some ribs and they turned out quite delicious most disappeared very quickly. It went off pretty well if I do say so myself. Onto the 4th! It was nuts. We started off by driving up to Huntington to hang with Ashley and Evan and some other friends for brunch. It was quite delicious and a good way to begin the festivities. After brunch we headed back down to the house to get going. It began calmly enough with a few games of beer pong and lots of ridiculous pictures. Then we all hopped on our bikes to go check out the craziness that is Newport Beach. HOLY CRAP. I believe on July 4th that Newport Beach, California is how most people that don’t live there picture it year round. There are people EVERYWHERE. Lots of girls in bikinis on bikes with their big macho boyfriends and tourists and craziness. I think Carl may have been in a little bit of shock. We didn’t ride down too far so that it wouldn’t take forever to get back and just hung at the beach for a while. Bodysurfing and just being silly. After a while we decided to head up to NB Brew Co to get some drinks and some food and chill for a bit. After that we headed back to watch the fireworks from the back bay and then pass out. Looking back, I guess we really didn’t go all that crazy, just hung out and had fun. Nothing terrible happened, no one got arrested, all in all it was pretty perfect.

So our last two weeks in California after that were pretty standard. I surfed an insane amount. We went to the wedge pretty consistantly, I started to kinda not care so much about work, and just really began to look forward to moving back. Gabe and I did a lot of dawn patrolling when the waves were good. We hung out a lot with as many of our friends as we could and all in all it was pretty awesome. Gabe and Kathleen threw us a going away party at their house which was pretty awesome. Gabe (AKA the tri tip master) made some delicious tri tip and shrimp and we played lots of games. There was a beer pong table, redneck horseshoes, and cornhole. One of our friends, never having played redneck horseshoes before got one of the “horseshoes” stuck in a tree, and I had to climb it to get it out. We hung out there for a while and got a little ridiculous and then rode bikes down to the goat. That was pretty insane. Leah and I did not have bikes so we rode on people’s handlebars. Right after everyone left the house, we all split up like a bunch of high school kids running from a busted party. Well at least, Jeremy (whose bike I was on) and I did. I seriously that I was going to die like 8 times. There was one time in particular where we came so stupidly close to running head first into a tree…oh man. After a while at the Goat, and a bit too much beer everyone went home and Leah and I borrowed one of Gabe and Kathleen’s bikes and headed back with Leah on the handle bars and me driving. Now THAT was an adventure, telluwhut!

That brings us up to the trip back, which will be continued in part 2….


Actions

Information

Leave a comment