New Aquisitions

6 07 2008

I got this this week.

I pre-ordered these back in May and received them on the exact day the record was released, not a day sooner or later. I’ve been looking forward to this record much like the H2O record with intense anticipation, but not letting myself get to built up, knowing that bands who sign to majors often blow it multiple times before getting their head back on straight.

The full length (to the left) is on 180g, black vinyl and is so dang shiny I couldn’t get a good picture without the reflection of my arms over top of it. Some may say the weight of the vinyl doesn’t matter in turns of sound quality, but it is still insane how clear this sounds. I’ve been trying to hear the guitar/bass lines on “I Found A Way” (my favorite song on the record) for a week now and I can finally hear exactly what’s happening.

The cover is gatefold which is sweet. Although the art is kinda weak in my opinion.

I think the first time I saw Alkaline Trio was right before (or after, my memory is bad these days) they released From Here to the Infirmary at St Andrews Church in College Park, MD. Saves the Day and Dashboard Confessional played the show as well and I remember being pretty much blown away by every band. The church held many many many many good shows before some assholes decided to start lighting off fireworks inside the building and then the church raised it’s rent price up to $1000, which in turn made shows impossible. Anyway, that show was nuts and so has A3 been every time I’ve seen them since, although I hear they stopped playing “95” which is definitely a bummer.

So along with the full length, I got this 7″ single included with the pre-order.

It’s pretty sweet. It has their first single off the record “Help Me” on the A, and a cover of Tegan and Sarah’s “Wake Up Exhausted” on the B. Pretty awesome. Punknews is giving it away here. Good luck winning that. I just checked and there are already 6 copies on ebay. Ridiculous.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment